Yellow Cupcakes with Mocha Butter Frosting

10 Jun

Soon there will be a graduation.  And accompanying that event will be a luncheon, and a reception.  So I am on the lookout for ideas.  This evening an old friend and his son who are visiting from Minnesota came to eat supper with us.

We had a rice-salmon-spinach quiche-like casserole concoction that I made up.  It was quite tasty.

There seems to be quite an interest in cupcakes these days so I decided to start trying some without resorting to Martha, et. al.

For dessert I turned to the ever trusty third printing (1970) Better Homes and Gardens New Cook Book.  It was my first ‘adult’ cookbook.  I still use it frequently.  Under cakes is Yellow Cake.  I cut the recipe in half and made 13 cupcakes.  Here is the recipe I used for a batch of cupcakes:

6 T. butter

3/4 cup sugar

1 egg

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 1/2 cups cake flour

1 1/4 tsp baking powder

a smidge salt

3/4 cup milk

Cream the butter. Add sugar and cream until light.  Add the egg and vanilla and beat until fluffy.  Add sifted dry ingredients alternately with milk, beating well after each addition.  Beat one additional minute.  Pour into 12+ muffin cups and bake at 350 degrees F for about 17-20 minutes.

To the top of the batter in each cupcake I added a few pieces of red Andes peppermint candy which was sold at Christmastime for putting in cookies.

While they were baking I made Mocha Butter Frosting:

3 T butter, creamed.  Add 1/4 cup dry unsweetened cocoa, 1 tsp instant coffee substitute (like Postum), 2 T. cream, and 1-2 cups confectioner’s sugar and beat well, adding more cream or milk if needed.  I added some Baily’s Irish Cream  instead of milk the second time.

Yellow cupcakes

They baked so high, light and fluffy I am ashamed of having used box cakes.

Easy.  And much better tasting than anything out of a box.

Leave a Reply

