Extended TDY

13 Nov

No family likes it when their soldier son, husband, brother, nephew goes TDY (tour of duty).  The separation is oh-so-noticeable.  My brother was an adventurous sort, though.  He loved to travel, and travel he surely did.  This final tour, the extended one, I imagine he will be doing what he did, what he loved to do,  his whole professional career: going on ahead, preparing the way for the safe, secure embarkation and arrival of others.

The sharp new tang of this, his last departure, tends to encroach and overwhelm the reality of the necessity to keep on keeping on.  I need to remind myself of my own duty here.  He surely would remind me, in tones and words not subtle or especially kind.

As I age and friends and family leave me behind, 1 Corinthians 15 has become for me much more vivid, real, and affirming.

John Sackett III is much more able now to perform his duty than ever he was here.  The perishable has become imperishable; the mortal, immortal.

Jay2008

One Response to “Extended TDY”

  1. Valerie (Kyriosity) 13 November 2009 at 8:03 PM #

    Deborah, I’m so sorry for your loss, but thanking God with you that your brother now lives more fully and freely than ever before. Blessed in the sight of the Lord is the death of His saints. May His comfort surround and sustain you.

Leave a Reply

