The first flowers outside

15 Mar

At this latitude one would expect aconite or snow drops to be the first spring flowers.  At my mother and my mother-in-law’s homes, they are both in bloom.  At our home, they are just thinking about opening:

But what caught my eye yesterday, and surprised and pleased me today, is what is the first full bloom of this year at our home:

This little beauty, only a thumbnail width across, is a spring blooming hardy cyclamen. There are quite few more coming on. The photo does not do it justice.

The establishment of several plants of spring and fall blooming cyclamen I consider one of my highest gardening achievements.

Then I found a couple clumps of a different variety of galanthus (snowdrop) that are also open today:

A tie for first place in outside bloom for 2010: Hardy cyclamen and snowdrop.

The pussy willows have been coming out, too.

Leave a Reply

